Merry Christmas!

Santa Claus is coming tonight! πŸ˜€ It’s going to be a long day. We are going to my sister’s house in the afternoon. She’s coming around 2 pm. In a little while my niece Alec is coming too. Don’t ask me how we are going to smuggle the Christmas gifts out of the house without him noticing… Mum will have to distract him somehow while I sneak out of the house when my sister gets here.

Some pictures from earlier in the morning… The car received his gifts early in the morning. πŸ™‚ He got cat sausages (he eats one every day), two small tin cans of food, a bag of “Party snacks”. He also got another gift that is not in this picture. Tiny “Crunchy Crunches” which he loved! Thanks, Linda! He loved his new toy, a fluffy pink ball with some fuchsia strips of fur attached to a long black stick.

The gingerbread house we made yesterday and it was tricky this year. Both the roof parts were totally cracked in half. 😦 I had to glue them with icing and let them dry before I added the decorations (candy and more icing). I added the vertical stripe of icing where it was cracked, because I thought it would hold it together better. The other piece of roof also has striped, but vertical ones.

When we glued the sides of the house together we had to wait several minutes for the icing to stick the house together. We had all four parts joined (the two long sides and the two short sides), we thought it was OK to let go and, crash, all the four sides collapsed! 😦 So we had to make more icing and start over again. Eventually we got it glued together. The chimney was also tricky. It didn’t want to stay together at all and I was ready to give up on the chimney. But that too was fixed in the end.

Our goal with the gingerbread house is that it’s glued together and stands. It doesn’t matter how it looks like. I am not good at decorate with icing. But it’s ok. It’s surrounded by candles and other decorations and you don’t notice the many flaws it has.

The cat hates his Santa hat. Today I got it to stay on the head of the cat long enough so I could take a few pictures. But the cat looked a bit annoyed. πŸ˜‰ He doesn’t need to have it.

On December 22 I made Eiskonfekt in the evening. I don’t have any pictures of that. I do have pictures from last year. I was not going to make any this year, but my sister-in-law told my sister that may be I should make some. So I made 41 (there was an extra cup in one of the boxes!). I always put crushed mint candies in the cups first and then I also add a few drops of mint flavor into the mix of coconut fat and chocolate.

 

2 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

