New Year

Mum and K went to the Finnish theater in town to watch a play about a Finnish musician. Alec was here and he left at 8.15 pm. We played a board game three times while we waited for Alec’s mum to come.

Then I “predicted” my future by melting horse shoes and throwing the metal in a bucket of cold water. You are supposed to look at the renewed form of the metal and see what will happen in the coming year… If you think it looks like a boat it might mean you are going to do a boat trip. Well, I have no idea what my piece of metal looks like this year, so I don’t know what’s gonna happened.

After that I watched the black and white comedy “Dinner for one”. It only takes 15 minutes.

At 9 pm I boiled some sausages and ate them with potato salad. Don’t ask me why Finns eat sausages and potato salad on New Year’s eve, but many do.

After that I pretty much cross stitched the rest of the evening. I finished one bookmark and started on a new one. I also made two more bookmarks, which I printed out from the computer and colored a bit, before covering them with plastic.

At midnight? Well, I cross stitched. Then I went to the living room to wish my cat Niki a happy new year and well, I was in bed and asleep at 15 minutes past midnight. 🙂

Mum and K came home around 10 pm. They ate sausages and potato salad too, and then they watched TV. They went to bed shortly before 1 am I think.

The streets were very icy so no one wanted to go outside and watch fireworks. Mum and K stood on the balcony watching some fireworks after midnight. But I just took a quick glance from the kitchen window.

I went to the library earlier in the day and almost fell on my butt because it was so incredibly icy! But I managed to stay on my feet.

Grand mum was here earlier today. She just went home.

My sister’s family is now on the airport. The plane leaves in one hour. They are going to the Canary Islands, coming home on January 8th. It takes around 7 hours on the plane, so they will arrive during the night.

I have to go soon. I guess the dog need some dinner soon. I won’t be home tomorrow, because I am working from 10 am to 5 pm and before I’m at my sis’s house it will be more like 6.30 pm. Don’t know how I’ll get myself to work tomorrow… It’s a long way to the market square. I can’t walk all the way. I guess I’ll take the bicycle with me when I go soon, but if the streets are still icy I can’t go with the bike tomorrow, not even to the market square.

I have already a bag full of stuff at the dog’s house. So I don’t need to take that much with me today. But a plastic bag with yoghurts and a few other things I need. No stores are open today.

2 thoughts on “New Year

Leave a Reply

