Happy New Year!

I have just started putting the first few pieces together on the Starry Night jigsaw puzzle. 🙂 It’s gonna be difficult!

But I am taking a break from the jigsaw puzzle now, because I am going to go to the grocery store, and then I’ll make another batch of Eiskonfekt! I have to use that coconut fat that I have from the last batch.

And later tonight I’ll watch Finland vs. Switzerland in the junior ice hockey world championships. 🙂 Finland took a surprising victory last night against Russia! 🙂 4-1! I forgot to check when the game started yesterday, so I turned on the TV when half the game had been played…

Even later than that I am going to bed. 😉 Because I know that I will not have the energy to stay awake until midnight if I don’t take a nap first. So I’ll watch that black and white comedy “Dinner for one” (I think that’s the name), go to bed and have the alarm clock ringing sometimes after 11. 

Don’t know if I am going to the beach to see the fireworks. Depends on the weather, my mood and energy. I don’t think I went last year, but I did the year before that.

I don’t know where the tradition came from, but Finns usually eat potato salad and boiled sausage on New Year… So that’s my dinner today. 🙂 Another tradition is to melt a tin horse shoe and quickly throw the liquid in cold water. Then it transform into something different and you have to try and guess what it is. If it looks like a boat, may be you are going on a boat trip in the following year. 

Yesterday my sister called to let us know that her mother-in-law had passed away on Sunday, December 29. So my niece and two nephews have lost their grand mum. 😦 It was kind of expected as she suffered a bad heart attack on December 14. Since then she was in the ICU (intensive care unit) at the local hospital and then they took her to the hospital in Tampere, were they did some surgery and kept her in the ICU there. I don’t now if she ever really woke up after the heart attack and there were constantly new issues the doctors had to try and solve. Kidney failure, high fever, bleeding from the aorta… Don’t know what finally happened that took her life. She had turned 70 in November, so she wasn’t that old. 

Well, she could have been sleeping for weeks or months and what kind of life is that, just laying in bed with machines breathing for you…

And Michael Schumacher is still fighting for his life. 😦 I hope the doctors give some news today. 

A good thing is that Kimi Raikkonen is officially a Ferrari driver tomorrow! 😀 Hope they give out an interview with him soon. 

Happy New Year to all who is reading this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

