Finnish mascot :D

Finnish mascot :D

Ok, so I bought the cute little lion for a couple of euros on a sale a while ago. The Finnish ice hockey team, which I really like to watch, is called The Lions. So I thought I would make the lion a shirt and add a little Finnish flag (cut out of felt).

It’s the first time I have tried to crochet clothes and I didn’t have any pattern. So I just tried to make it up along the way.

Here’s how I did. Basically it’s the two sleeves separately and the two sides (front and back).

I started with 21 chain stitches and then made 20 half treble stitches, starting in the second chain from the hook. I turned with a chain stitch. So I made a total of 6 rows with 20 half treble stitches.

The following row I started by crocheting two half treble stitches together, followed by 16 half treble stitches and in the end I stitched the last two together, before turning with a chain stitch.

Next row, normally, 18 half treble stitches. After that 2 in 1, 14 half trebles, 2 in 1and turn (16 stitches in that row). Then 2 in 1, 12 half trebles, 2 in 1 and turn with a chain stitch. Last row 14 half trebles. Cut the yarn, leaving a long tail and pull it through the last loop to secure it.

For the sleeves, I started with 14 chain stitches, and added 13 half trebles starting again from the second chain from the hook. I made a total of five rows with 13 half trebles, always turning with a chain stitch. I ended in the same way, by cutting off the yarn, leaving a long tail and pulling it through the last loop.

After that I just used the tails of yarn to sew the sleeves into a roll, and to sew the sides together and around the sleeves.

The flag I just glued on. It’s made of felt pieces.

I am sure there are better ways of crocheting shirts, but as I wrote, this is how I did it and I do think it’s cute. He is my mascot for the ice hockey team.

Leave a Reply

